Volunteering at Harrogate International Festivals

Last Thursday I took myself out on a day trip. Most people think I’m a bit crazy for spending 3 hours on a train there and back but me?  Well I love a good train trip.

I had coffee, croissants, a backlog of podcasts, and a book to make my way through. It was a quite carriage so I wouldn’t have all that distracting noise, I could indulge and appreciate the gorgeous countryside as the train raced North, up and up to Yorkshire.

building

Harrogate, Yorkshire

Harrogate is about a half hour train trip from Leeds or York.  Home to Bettys Tea Rooms, the Turkish Baths, and the beautiful Valley Gardens Harrogate was recently voted the happiest place to live in the UK.

Harrogate International Festivals

With 50 years under their belts Harrogate International Festivals have well and truly established their reputation for a diverse range of events and festivals.  This diversity increases tourism to Harrogate and surrounding villages, as well as providing culture, entertainment and education.

Festivals include:

  • Harrogate Music Festival (July 2017)
  • Theakston Old Peculiar Crime Writing Fesitval (July 2017) Which has even played host to J.K Rowling
  • History Festival
  • Raworths Harrogate Literature Festival (Autumn 2017)

350px-OldSwanHotelHarrogate20080807_0183

Fun Fact

Crime writer Agatha Christie was discovered in the Old Swan Hotel in 1926, after she mysteriously disappeared from her Surrey Home, and it is fitting that the Theakston’s Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival is now held at this historic venue.

Volunteering and getting involved

Harrogate International Festivals are incredibly welcoming to volunteers, especially with so many festivals running in the year. I got in touch with them last year to volunteer and steward specifically for the Theakston Old Peculiar in July, however a couple of weeks ago they asked if I was available to come help with their postal mailing of the Crime event guide and other summer festival programmes. I currently have the time, and so booked myself on a train.

mug

They have a gorgeous old building for an office where I helped out for a number of hours, chattering away to the event organisers and other volunteers, finding out about the ‘behind the scenes’ of the festivals, and having an enjoyable time. I even had time to stop off at Betty’s for a cream tea before getting on the train to home. I highly recommend getting involved in volunteering as it’s always a way to meet people and feel part of a community. I even bought myself a gorgeous limited edition Emma Bridgewater mug

 

Leave a Reply

