March 2017

Spring has arrived, I must have blinked and missed those 3 short weeks of February.

I’m also changing my format of these little wrap ups so here goes.

March Ups

The month started off with seeing Tracy Chevalier at Daunt Books Hampstead. I love any excuse to go to Hampstead really. It was a small affair and one of the more engaging talks i’ve been to in a while. Read about it here

The following week I did a two day workshop exploring Yoga and the Mind with my studio. It was brilliant, and it was on the first warm weekend of the year.

I had some how managed to get an appoint with the kindest most encouraging Literary Agent, he offered life advice and gave me a new book that won’t be out in the UK until May.

I attended my first Words Away writers Salon in Vauxhall with the wonderful Essie Fox. Read about it here

Waterstones Gower Street hosted author Louise Doughty and screenwriter Amanda Coe to discuss their collaboration for the BBC drama Apple Tree Yard. Read about it here

March Downs

I had come to the decision a few weeks back that I needed to go back to media so that I could get myself back in an office, earn minimum wage and get my rusty skills moving again while applying for publishing jobs.

I used to work on tech and telecommunication clients, and household cleaning clients but having been out of the media world for 18months has meant i’ve been applying for jobs below where I was, and also scraping the bottom of the barrel in terms of clients-Funeral Insurance has to be the all time low.

I did interview for a client I could see myself working on for at least 6 months, and even brought in hand drawn diagrams, and every morsel of knowledge I picked from Mr Turners brain. The feedback was great, but I didn’t get the role because I’ve been out of the loop for 18months and they needed someone with more than a working knowledge of performance

March Books

At the Edge of the Orchard
by Tracy Chevalier

Reading this was like having Chevalier’s voice in my head. I enjoyed the first half of the book, the tension, the volatility and the futility of circumstance were so juicy (for lack of a better word) but the second half was laborious to read .

A Beautiful Dare
by Natasha Lester

In anticipation of Lester’s new book, Her Mother’s Secret, I went back to her vignette written for A Kiss from Mr Fitzgerald. I really enjoyed it and it definitely set the tone for what was to come.

Upcoming April

Easter is coming up next month. So possibly looking at a day trip away with Mr Turner.

I’m volunteering at my local Theatre for their new production called Spring Offensive, and travelling to Harrogate to  volunteer at their International Festivals office.

The next Words away is on the 24th April and Sarah Perry, author of the Essex Serpent will be speaking at Waterstones Piccadilly.

Leave a Reply

