International Women’s Day 2017

(L-R) Eliza, Gr Gr Grandmother Louisa, Gr Grandmother Caroline, Flo

My Great Great Grandmother Louisa (second from left, for whom I take my middle name from) was born 1867 in to a world where women did not have the right to vote. My Great Grandmother Caroline (second from right) was born 1886, also into a world where women did not have the right to vote. (Australian women won the vote in 1902, some states were earlier but for my ancestors in NSW it was 1902)

We have come in great strides in women equality, but this week, in the year 2017 I was met with gender discrimination when applying for a job where I should have been offered a second interview. I’m a women of a certain age with a certain marital status and that apparently signals to companies that I would not be committed to a job. Women have a long way to go before they are seen as valuable beyond having children should they so wish.

Leave a Reply

